Tag Archives: Navratri

Worshiping Goddess Mahagauri – Eighth Day of Navratri   

The eighth day of Navratri festival is known as “Ashtami”. On this day, Maa Mahagauri is worshipped, who is the eighth manifestation of the Goddess Durga. Maha Gauri is a manifestation is of Goddess Parvati.  The meaning of Maha Gauri is Maha (great or extreme) and Gauri (white complexion). The Goddess Maha Gauri rides in… Read More »

Goddess Brahmacharini is Worshiped on Second Day of Navratri

The second form of Maa durga is Goddess Brahmacharini. Her name denotes ‘Brahmacharini’ which mean ‘Brahma’ (penance) or strong influencing tapasya. The Goddess performs Tapa or hard penance. She is depicted as pious women or Sannyasin, who mediates and likes simplicity. The unmarried meditating form of Goddess Parvati is worshiped as Goddess Brahmacharini. The form… Read More »

First day of Navratri: MAA SHAILPUTRI 

Durga puja or Navratri festival is one of the most celebrated festivals in India. The festival is celebrated by worshipping Goddess Durga and her nine different incarnations. On this auspicious festival devotees worship nine Devi’s and also fast for all the nine days. वंदे वाद्द्रिछतलाभाय चंद्रार्धकृतशेखराम | वृषारूढां शूलधरां शैलपुत्री यशस्विनीम्‌ || Vandē vāddrichatalābhāya candrārdhakr̥taśēkharāma |… Read More »

Navratri Festival Celebrations 2015

Navratri literally means ‘nine nights’ in Sanskrit; Nav – Nine and Ratri – nights, Symbolizing victory of positivity over negativity, During these nine nights and ten days, the three forms of the goddess -Durga, Lakshmi and Saraswathi – are invoked. “Nava-ratri” literally means “nine nights.” This festival is observed twice a year, once in the… Read More »